Preaching and Pig Farming

I started this blog to remember…remember the lessons, the mistakes, the people, the stories, the victories, and mostly God’s faithfulness.  He is GOOD – all the time – even when I don’t get it, when I don’t like the outcome, or when I want something different – He is good and wants the BEST for me and for you.  His heart is so for you.

2016 was quite the year.

I started out 2016 very discouraged as I had gotten out of a relationship and I was boycotting dating and relating, and just really felt like “What in the world am I doing?”  As the year progressed, I saw God’s goodness and faithfulness in so many ways.  I’m so glad a snap isn’t the whole story. (steven furtick)

I had a great desire to get married for 10 years.  I wanted to share my life with someone and so through the course of 8 years I was off and on dating websites meeting men and learning a lot – about men, life, and myself.  (More on this later)

10 years….it seems like a LONG time but in those ten years I saw God’s hand and heart for me in so many ways.  Dating, relating, screwing up, victories, through it all I’m thankful.

I  met Luke in June.  I wasn’t sure if I wanted to meet him or anyone.  I was emotionally drained from some dates and dudes.  Online dating had been a roller coaster and I was done; I didn’t want to try again.

I switched from Christianmingle to Match at the recommendation (prodding) of a friend (thanks Amber!) and it took me two weeks to take the plunge and become a subscriber. Luke messaged me the first day I had set up the account but I didn’t respond because I couldn’t respond until I subscribed.  Finally I paid for it and got Luke’s message.

We started talking on June 2nd and met on June 15th at Smokey Row.  At first I thought him to be a cool guy and that we’d be great friends.  We snap chatted and text a lot in the two weeks before we met.  I knew I wanted to meet him in person when I got a text in the middle of the day that said “I pray for you and I pray about you.”

WHAT?!?!?!!?!

Well I was intrigued.  We Facetimed on June 14 and were supposed to meet on that Friday for supper but I told him I wanted to meet him the next day.  He was up for it and we met up after Wednesday night church service.  I was an hour late.  He was handsome and kind…and the rest they say is history.

(more to come)

 

Leave a Reply

